top of page

Matt Ryan Wins Pro Football Writers of America MVP Award

Matt Ryan has done it.

After an outstanding season in which he led the Atlanta Falcons to an 11-5, record an NFC South division crown and an NFC championship game birth, the Pro Football Writers of America has awarded Ryan their MVP. Ryan has also won the PFWA offensive player of the year award as well.

In it’s 43-year history, though, Ryan is the first Atlanta Falcon to win the award. He, too, has made it to the All-Pro team, as well as to the Pro Bowl.

Tossing around the rock for a whopping 38 touchdowns, 4,944 yards and seven interceptions has earned his fourth selection to the Pro Bowl.

With these gaudy stats and the Falcons being one of the best teams in the game, Ryan is in the running for the Associated Press MVP award. Votes have already been tallied, and the MVP will be announced during Super Bowl week.

The Falcons will take on the  Packers this Sunday in the NFC Championship game in the Georgia Dome.

bottom of page