top of page

Avery Wilson, Tevin Campbell, Major and More Perform at the 2019 Black Music Honors

This year’s 2019 Black Music Honors television taping was held at The Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre in Atlanta, GA. During this star-studded two-hour television special, Chicago based Central City Productions honored the legendary quartet Xscape who received the Urban Music Icon Award for the platinum selling quartet group’s 25 years in the industry; Yolanda Adams who received the Gospel Music Icon Award; Culturally-conscience eclectic group, Arrested Development, The only artist to ever reach #1 with 2 versions of the same song, Tamia, and chart-topping crooner, Freddie Jackson, whose career has spanned over 33 years, also received awards. Television and radio personality Rickey Smiley and Grammy Award-Winner and actress LeToya Luckett-Walker returned as the show’s co-hosts.

The show featured powerful tribute performances by Avery Wilson, Dee-1, Jade Novah, Jagged Edge, Jekalyn Carr, Naughty By Nature, June’s Diary, Keke Wyatt, Kelly Price, Le’Andria Johnson, Melanie Fiona, 702, MAJOR. who all packed brought the house to their feet with each and every note they sang. The show will air Sunday, October 20th at noon EST on Bounce TV, and in national broadcast syndication, September 14 – October 20. The broadcast schedule is available at

The 2019 Black Music Honors show is sponsored by State Farm and AT&T, executive produced by Don Jackson with Jennifer J. Jackson serving as producer, and Michael A. Johnson as producer and director. For more information on the Black Music Honors, please visit and connect on social media @blackmusichonors and #blackmusichonors.

Photo Credit: Umeek Images

bottom of page